The tenor Josep Carreras awarded with the Josep Trueta medal 2012

The tenor Josep Carreras awarded with the Josep Trueta medal 2012 for sanitary merits.

Thus, they have wanted to highlight his work as the president of the José Carreras Foundation against leukaemia, which, for almost 25 years, has been working in the scientific research of the illness and aims to provide better opportunities for patients.

The Foundation has invested over 100 million euros in research projects, funded healthcare infrastructure in several hospitals and international centres, manages the Spanish Bone Marrow Donors Registry (REDMO) and provides social services for patients and families. In collaboration with the Government of Catalonia, the Foundation created and funds the construction and equipment of the Josep Carreras Leukaemia Research Institute, one of the few centres in the world dedicated solely to investigate the causes and best alternative treatments for leukaemia and other haematological malignancies. Prof. Ciril Rozman, renowned haematologist, vice-president of the José Carreras Foundation from its inception until 2012 and supporter of the Josep Carreras Leukaemia Research Institute, also received the medal Josep Trueta in 1998.

The Josep Trueta Awards to sanitary merit

These awards were created by the Government of Catalonia in 1997, coinciding with the 100th anniversary of the birth of renowned Catalan doctor and scientist.

The winners of the Josep Trueta 2012 medal are: the public and community health specialist, Pedro Alonso Fernandez; the internal medicine and preventive medicine specialist, Miguel Ángel Asenjo Sebastián: the professor and doctorate in medicine and surgery, José Baselga Torres; the neurologist Mercè Boada Rovira; the president of the Victor Grífols Foundation and the Bioethics Committee of Spain and member of the Bioethics Committee of Catalonia, Victoria Campos Cervera; the tenor Jose Carreras i Coll; the internal medicine and infectious diseases specialist and doctor in medical sciences, Bonaventura Clotet Sala; the pharmaceutical Joaquim Ferràs Boix; the infectious diseases specialist, Josep Maria Gatell Artigas; the Family and Community Medicine specialist, Josep Maria Garrido Martín; the president of the Medical Education Foundation, Albert Oriol i Bosch; the paediatric specialist, Josep Maria Sala Xampeny; the nurse Montserrat Valverde Bosch; and the doctor of biological sciences, Anna Veiga Lluch.

Also, the board has granted the Josep Trueta plaque to the Academy of Medical Sciences and Health of Catalonia and the Balearic Islands, to the Centre of Research in Economics and Health (CRES), the Avedis Donabedian Foundation, the Multiple Sclerosis Foundation, the Catalan Institute of Health and the Werfen Group.

Webpage updated 11/27/2022 19:13:37